RSS Feed (xml)

Powered By

Skin Design:
Free Blogger Skins

Powered by Blogger

Monday, November 24, 2008


The active ingredient in tea is Epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG). It has many health benefits, including reducing cancer, protecting the skin against harmful UV radiation, fighting arthritis, and more. The fact is that all types of tea come from the same plant, Camellia sinensis. What makes them different is the way the tea is processed. If you go to this Web site:

and click on the link for"tea processing flowchart" you'll see that tea is processed from very little (white) to very much (black). The four types of tea are as follows, with the least processes listed first:
  1. White tea
  2. Green tea
  3. Oolong tea
  4. Black tea
I like all types of tea but I am under the impression that the least processed teas (white and green) provide a higher level of EGCG and are, as a result, healthier.

No comments: